What You Have

Every time I see what you have, I’m reminded of what I don’t have.

That breaks my heart.

It’s not what I don’t have that makes me sad.

It’s the fact that in your happiness you don’t notice how unhappy I am.

But to be honest, I don’t want you to notice. 

If you did I think I would die. 

I couldn’t take it, living in my sadness knowing you knew.

I’d rather you were happy, blissfully. 

Just be happy.

Just be happy.

That’s all that matters to me.

I can’t choose between you and I. 

It’s too hard. 

I will always choose you. 

Always.

No matter what.

If you’re happy, even if I’m not, that’s what I live for.

It might seem selfless.

But maybe it’s actually selfish.

Maybe it’s because I am afraid to face my issues, my demons, the things that make me sad.

Maybe.

But I still love you.

More than you’ll ever know.

Leave a Reply

